North American Taiko Conference, Here I Come!

I’m psyched to finally have an opportunity to attend the North American Taiko Conference.  It’s held every other year out on the west coast.  I’ve been wanting to go ever since I first heard about it in 2005, but things got in my way every time.  Until now.

This August, it’ll be held at Stanford University.  I confirmed my registration this morning.  One of my Zen buddies from my Temple recently relocated to Oakland, so I’m going to see if I can catch up with him for a day or two whilst I’m out that way.

Now to figure out how to get out there.  Flying would be quickest, but then I don’t get to bring as many toys with me.  Driving would be a lot more fun, but it would extend an extended weekend into a week-and-a-half long psycho road trip.  As much as I don’t like the thought of driving through the Arizona desert in the middle of August, I do like the thought of visiting old friends in Omaha, Denver, and Vegas along the way.  But dying in a plane crash would be more pleasant than dying of dehydration, so I’ll probably end up flying.  Unless I can talk my taiko buddies into driving with me … which I seriously doubt.

Shamisen-sensei says we’ll actually have shamisen okeiko this weekend!  Yay!  I’m glad to start that back up again.

And yes, I renewed my street performer permit.  That’s good for another two years now.

Time to dig up the shamisen and slap out a few songs so I don’t look completely foolish tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Taiko and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

