Sukematsu Breakthrough

I had a bit of a breakthrough this weekend.  One particular taiko song, Sukematsu, has been the bane of my existence lately.  The song’s full name is Oedo Sukeroku Matsuri Taiko.  It’s a very dynamic song, played with the taiko on sukeroku stands, and all of the myriad movements ended up confusing me far far more than they should have.  Taiko-sensei wants us to perform this on June 18th in Millennium Park, so she had us running through it over and over and over this weekend … and lo and behold it finally started sinking in!

Also, yesterday I decided to start cataloging the various songs on my collection of taiko performance DVDs.  Imagine my surprise when I found Sukematsu on not one but both of my Tsukasa Taiko DVDs!  I must’ve repressed that, because I honestly do not remember it being on either of those.  With DVD recordings of those two performances, I’ll certainly be ready to perform Sukematsu on the 18th.  Yay!

This entry was posted in Taiko and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

